Webinar announced for Post COVID-19 Condition: Best Practices on Management for Clinicians and Patients

The International Society for Vaccines (ISV)  has announced its collaboration with MJH Life Sciences in presenting a webinar on ‘The Post COVID-19 Condition: Best Practices on Management for Clinicians and Patients’, with speakers including covid:aid Expert Panel member Dr Nathalie MacDermott.

The event is billed as "A great opportunity to hear and to quiz a viral immunologist, an autonomic neurologist, a cardiology researcher, a rehabilitation specialist, and a clinician who has dealt with long COVID firsthand for their insights on the issue of the Post COVID-19 condition: pathogenesis, role of therapeutic vaccination, and more!".

It takes place on Wednesday September 8 at 09:30am  (Los Angeles) , 12:30 pm (New York),  17:30 pm (London), 18:30 pm  (Paris), 19:30 (Moscow), 22:00 (Mumbai).

The lineup of speakers include:  

Moderator:

Nathalie MacDermott, MBBCH, PhD

Academic Clinical Lecturer in Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases), King’s College London 

Panel:

Akiko Iwasaki, PhD

Professor of Immunobiology and Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Yale School of Medicine

Dr. Iwasaki will be discussing the underlying immunopathogenesis of Long COVID/PASC, as well as the potential role of vaccination in mitigating the effects.

Michael Zandi, MA, MB, BChir, PhD, FRCP 

Consultant Neurologist, Institute of Neurology, University College London

Dr. Zandi’s presentation will focus on the neurological aspects of long COVID with a particular focus on cognitive dysfunction. 

Valeria Iodice, PhD

Consultant Neurologist, Honorary Associate Professor, Institute of Neurology, University College London

Robert Bell, MRCP, PhD

Principal Research Fellow

Institute of Cardiovascular Science, University College London 

Drs. Iodice and Bell will deliver a joint presentation on autonomic dysfunction aspects of long COVID with an emphasis on autonomic cardiac dysfunction.

David Putrino, PhD

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York 

Dr. Putrino will be leading a talk on rehabilitation options for patients with long COVID.

Want to help? covid:aid is solely reliant on your donations to provide the best possible support to all those across the UK significantly affected by Covid-19.

Donate now